Courage

“Courage is doing what you’re afraid to do. There can be no courage unless you’re scared.”

I find this quote very inspiring. How many times have you gone out of your comfort zone and tried something new?  I can say over the past few years I have exceeded my comfort zone by what feels a million miles and with that, I have been scared to death.

When I entered grad school I had an idea of what I might want to do, be an academic advisor for a local college and maybe, eventually, teach in a community college.  I had tried to get a job being an academic advisor for years.  Applied at all the local colleges and community colleges and even went on an interview.  It felt like that was where I was supposed to be, but it was not happening.  So why not go to grad school and have better credentials where I would hopefully be offered a job.  Sounded like a good plan or at least I thought.

For me my comfort zone was/is definitely school.  I have been in it on and off since 1990 which doing all the math, that’s a lot years!  So my quest began, mental health counseling and then I will be an academic advisor.

Let’s just start by saying that every class was out of my comfort zone.  Having never worked in the field before I went off to school, I now found myself surrounded by people who were working in the field and working on getting a promotion with more education and a better role within their company.  I was so scared!  But I plugged onward.

When it came time for internship (one year working for free), I found myself working in substance abuse treatment, running groups, individual sessions and just in a field I did not imagine when I started.  Then came the job offer.  Is this what I want to do?  Did I want to continue to work in this field?  I was so out of my comfort zone but I took it.  I was off on my new career, which has also recently included being a special guest instructor for my grad school (somewhat close to the path I planned but still not an academic advisor.)

So this is where you find me now.  Working way out of my comfort zone on a daily basis, hoping I can contribute to someone’s life and make it just a little bit better.  I have gotten use to being scared, if that is even possible.  I am hoping this is courage or it could be just craziness.

To me courage has been and will forever be doing what I am afraid to do, facing things head on with a little flutter in my stomach asking, “Seriously!  Seriously!!  You want me to do what!”

Love to hear your thoughts.....

