Motivational Mondays

I thought I would try something new.  I am an avid quote fan if you can’t tell from my ongoing list of motivational quotes page I have on this blog.  I use these quotes to challenge myself, my clients, myself (oh wait, I already said that!) but I really do mean myself.  I need to be motivated on a constant basis because I am just like everyone else, if I hurt or am tired I don’t want to exercise.  If I don’t feel well, I want to lounge around on the couch.  If I’m grumpy (oh wait that never happens!  😉 okay it happens a lot more than I would like to admit) I need motivation.

So I decided to try motivational mondays.  I am not sure what way, shape, or form this will take ie: quotes, inspiring things, pictures of words from Pinterest (my other obsession) or just stories of motivation.  Also let me make this statement, when I say mondays, I mean monday evenings because I get up realllllllyyyyy early and I am not a morning person so I only accomplish the absolute necessary things in the morning like shower, teeth brushing, eating breakfast, and fixing my lunch before I walk out the door.  So if you are looking for motivation to get you out the door on monday you may have to use it for tuesdays to get rid of your terrible tuesdays instead!  Or read it a week later, which this method is not recommended due to the fact I want to keep you reading and interested in all my insightful material.! 🙂

Here is my first motivational monday posting: 

For me this quote really strikes a chord and sometimes not a very nice sounding one, kind of out of key actually.  I am back on that whole got to make a plan/goal and put it out there.  I see a theme going on here.  (If you have no idea what I am talking about, you need to go back and read my other blogs especially the one on “Figuring it out”)

If you are not happy where you are, why do we stay there?  Why don’t we make some changes?  I know a huge reason!  COMFORT!  We are comfortable with where we are even if we don’t like it.  Sounds kind of bizarre but it is reality for many of us.  I know several times in my life I have faced situations that were no good and I chose to continue to stay there and deal with the pain because it seemed easier than finding something else.  I was comfortable and felt in control because I knew what to expect.  When we step out of that comfort zone is when things get scary!  We feel out of control.  But if we step out with some sort of plan/dream/goal, we will not only be more successful, but chances are we will find comfort in our efforts.  We will wonder why we didn’t make this change sooner.

So I challenge you on this first motivational monday to decide if this is where you really want to be?  If not, why not take a day to at least dream of where you want to be and begin to figure out how to get there.  If it is where you want to be, then congrats!  You are doing great!  Me, most of my life is where I want it, just working on some other things, imagining, dreaming, and planning.

Love to hear your thoughts.....

