Why My Career is Just Starting

Many, many years ago I decided I would do all I could do to be able to stay at home and raise my daughter.  It was never an easy road; I didn’t have a lot of money and constantly made sacrifices.  I took jobs that were during the school day so I could be home when my child got home.  So I never started a career until now.

One of those jobs was a substitute teacher at my daughter’s school.  I liked that I could get to know the kids at the school and in some instances be part of my child’s day.  I bring this up because recently my daughter was at her school getting their senior hangout room ready with other seniors.  They all started talking about the past and someone asked my daughter “hey wasn’t your mom a substitute teacher here?”  My daughter replied, “Yes”.  To which the others replied, “She was awesome.  We loved it when she was our sub.”  When relaying this story to me my daughter said she was very proud and then told me that she brags about me all the time and she is proud of me.  That is why my career has started a little later!

I wanted to spend time with my daughter, I wanted to raise my daughter and I feel like that is what I have done and this is why my career is starting from scratch or a least it feels that way at times.

One thing I was able to do while my daughter was in school was complete my college education.  Got my bachelor’s degree in 2006 and graduated with my Masters in 2012.  I started working pretty much full time last September (but still getting home a little after 3pm each day) to be able to see my daughter before she started her afternoon activities.  I love this part of my day.  She goes on and on about how her day went and it’s awesome.

Now you are probably saying, “thanks for all the background information but what are you getting at?”  Well here goes… I have made sacrifices to accomplish different things in my life.  My goal, somewhat obviously, was to have a strong relationship with my daughter and raise her as best I could.  This does not always require someone to put themselves last but in this case it was my choice.

This was a huge choice for me but sometimes we don’t realize how little choices can change our lives.   Have you ever made a little choice and it turned into something larger?  Have you made huge choices and don’t feel you ever reaped the rewards?

Well I challenge you to take a moment and reexamine your choices.  I think if you look at things with a different perspective you will see all the benefits, all the things you have learned as well as how your life is as it is because of those choices.

Hope it turns out well and you learn a lot about yourself.  I am!

Love to hear your thoughts.....

