Kidnapped, but don’t worry it was by my family!!!

Don’t let the title shock you!  My family planned an event but they would not tell me where we were going.  The only info I had was that I had to wear shorts.  Well that’s kind of broad and it’s fall and cold so I had more questions of course.  What type of shorts?  Running, work out, jean?  Well the answer was something long.  What?  So after trying continuously to get info I had to settle on something tight fighting like biker shorts but not something airy like running shorts.  So there was my answer.  I could do that, biker shorts (the non padded kind, so I guess spandex shorts) was the answer.  Then comes the self-conscious me, “will others have spandex on”, “what exactly are we doing that I have to wear tight pants?”

So I quit asking and put on my biker shorts and we were off.  After a 40 minute drive we turned down this muddy road in the center of a nearby town and my daughter says, “Oh we are taking you out to kill you.”  To which I respond, “don’t worry I posted that I was with my family so others might come looking for me if I never returned and they know where to start!”  (Gotta love facebook, keeping your family and friends informed of your whereabouts since 2009, or at least then for me!)

I was surprised to see this sign at the end of this road:

Now this is something I had never done and really before now probably would never try due to the lack of being in shape.  But lucky for me I have been hanging from ropes for some time now (at least a month anyway).  Remember this?

Anyway, we had our 20 minute lesson and we were off.  Hanging from ropes and scaling walls like Spiderman.  Or at least that is how I felt going up.  Coming down is a little different.  You are totally relying on someone to keep from falling fast to the ground.  In this case it was Dave and he did a great job supporting me or else this post would be very different!  🙂

I wanted to post this because for me this was trust or as my sister calls me a “control freak” and I need to relax a little bit.  It’s hard to give up control.  I am usually the one planning things and I am a big fan of having a pretty good understanding of what is going to happen.  I guess that is kind of the definition of control.  Oh well.  I am learning to let go. 

Over the past years I have been learning to give up control.  Especially over things I cannot possibly ever take control of.  Really the only things I have control of are my reactions to things, my thoughts, and most of my emotions.  (Remember: crazy mom with a graduating senior who cries at the drop of a hat right now!)

I also learned something else today and that was that I really am in great shape thanks to all that running, weights, and TRX training.  Everyone was getting tired after about two hours and I still wanted to keep going.  I made them wait just a few more times for me to scale the wall and then gave into the hunger whining of the girls.  Next time we feed them before we go.  Oh wait, I didn’t know what I was doing so next time they need to take responsibility for eating if they decide to kidnap me to a place that does not have a snack bar!

Love to hear your thoughts.....

