Transitions

Transition, noun

1.movement, passage, or change from one position, state,stage, subject, concept, etc., to another; change:

Thank you Dictionary.com for defining where I am, in the middle of a transition.  Am I scared?  Well yes, I am human!  Am I excited?  Yep.  But still nervous.

Here’s the scoop:  When I started grad school I wanted to work in a college setting as an academic advisor and by the time I graduated I was employed full-time as a Clinician in Substance Abuse and Addiction.  Can it get any farther away from my original plan?  Not really sure.  But it has.  Now I find myself transitioning on to another point in my career.  I have given my notice at work and will be taking on an outpatient clinician role at the end of the month.  So that is where I am right now.  I have one more day at work and then a few weeks off to take a much needed break but I am still nervous.  As I have said in the past, I am my own worst client.

I’m trying to figure out why I am so nervous about this transition.  I think it has to do with the unknown.  The known is that I will have Clients (I better because if I don’t, they won’t pay me!).  Also, the known is that I will get to sleep a little later than I do right now (5:30 am comes very early) and I will get to stay up a little later with my family (bed by 9:ish because again 5:30am comes early!).  The other known is that I met some of the therapist I will be working with and they seem really nice.  Also, this job is closer to home so my commute will be only about 5 – 10 mins, instead of 25-30 mins (Yeah for saving gas too!)  These are all great things in my known category.

Now the unknown: I’ve been in inpatient for my career and now outpatient is different so I learn to adapt and hope I can do it fast.  Will they like me?  (Don’t we all have that thought going through our heads when we change jobs or meet new people.)  I hope so, I’m pretty likeable (at least that is what I like to think!).  Will I be able to do the job?  I tend to think this a lot too and it comes down to my confidence in my abilities.  (Still working on that but aren’t we all a work in progress)

So tomorrow is my last day at my current job and when I leave I take with me some wonderful experiences and some not so wonderful experiences but in the end I have grown and feel ready for this transition.  And the good news is that I have lots of phone numbers of people to call if I need a boost of confidence (isn’t it nice to have people who believe in you!).  I already feel better about making this transition!

Love to hear your thoughts.....

