Preconceived Ideas

I’m gonna go out on a limb here and say, “most of us have preconceived ideas about how things are going to be”.  If it is not true for you than you can stop reading but if you find this true, I urge you to read on.

Today I had one of those moments.  One of those preconceived ideas and I should know better moments.  Here is the story… My other half bought me a groupon for a massage and paraffin wax of my feet and hands.  I thought what better time to treat myself than my last day of vacation before I start my new job.  So I called and scheduled an appointment earlier in the week for today.  When I made the appointment I talked to a man and that is where the preconceived ideas began.  “What a man giving me a massage?  I’m not sure about this.  I’m gonna go but if I don’t feel comfortable than I’m leaving!”

I guess I always thought men should massage men and women should massage women, wrong idea #1!  Since it seems like mostly women get massages how would these men who want to get into that profession ever have customers.  So think out of the box and try something new.

Then the location was attached to a craft mall (pretty good place to have a business if you mainly cater to women don’t you think!).  So wrong idea #2 came into my head that a massage therapy place should be attached to a spa or strip mall or something more professional, not sure I am going to like this!  (We later talked about the location and this works perfect for him other than he would like to move more towards the back so it is quieter and has a separate entrance.)

I met the man giving me the massage and was a little skeptical because of all my preconceived ideas but because I am a trooper and hey who doesn’t want a free massage (don’t worry, I tipped well) I laid down and let the massage happen.

Let me just tell you that it was one of the best massages of my life.  He got all my triggers points, was able to really work those tired running muscles and really took the full hour to give me a complete massage.  It was awesome.

When the massage was done, it was time for the paraffin wax which gave me plenty of time to talk to him.  I found out a lot about him and that this is his retirement.  He loves what he does and it shows.  I felt very well taken care of.

As for the preconceived ideas I had going in, I felt pretty bad about them.  Sometimes it is hard for us to not let our mind runaway with these ideas of how things should be.  Once I relaxed and got out of my head, I had a very relaxing time.  Just goes to show you that maybe hanging out in your mind all the time is not a good place to hang!

Ever had a preconceived idea about something that was later proved to be ridiculous?  Open up your mind to new things.

2 thoughts on “Preconceived Ideas

Love to hear your thoughts.....

