My Civic Duty

No wait don’t go away, this is not a political statement about voting.  I mean it is about voting, just not a political piece.  Today for us Americans it was a moment to vote for our next president and other offices that are important to us as well as ballot questions for future laws.  But the best part about it was that I got to share it with my daughter who exercised her right to vote for the first time.  It was awesome to see how much she has grown and how important it was to her to get out and vote.  (I know it was important because she didn’t have school today and she got up early with Dave and me so we could all go together.)  What a great experience!

When standing in my little cubby hole to fill out my ballot, my eyes welled up with tears.  I was overcome by this awesome moment.  By this chance to pick a president, a representative, be a part of the law making process.  I am not this huge political person but you will find me at the polls making my statement through my ballot.  I do believe that if you don’t vote, then you have no right to complain! (Not that I am a huge complainer!)

I do wonder if anyone else has ever felt this overcome about voting or whether I am just a freak of nature and need to get better control of my emotions.  Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.:-)  Thanks

Love to hear your thoughts.....

