My Hero

hero1So today’s daily prompt is to write about your hero.  When you think about it, it sounds like it could be really simple but I am not sure it is really that simple.  As I look at my life and think about the people in my life who have helped me get to where I am, I can think of many people I consider my hero.

My first thought is my grandfather.  He died when I was just 19 but I remember spending so much time with him. One of my favorite moments was making cinnamon rolls on the weekend and then giving them out to people in the neighborhood because really there is no way we could eat 8 pans of cinnamon rolls (or maybe we could we would just be 3000 pounds!)  What I loved/love about him was his commitment to God and how he would practice his faith on a daily basis.  He also would go and preach/speak at nursing homes on Sunday morning to those who could not leave and go to church.  When he passed away I was lucky enough to get his bible.  Every once and awhile I open it up and really feel his presence.  I feel so blessed to have him in my life (I can still feel his presence on a somewhat daily basis).

A career hero I have is my friend Ed.  He was my internship advisor as I plugged along through grad school and tried to make my way.  He was/is always there to challenge me and help me to become a better Clinician.

My daughter is a hero of mine too.  She is courageous for all she has gone through in her short 18 years on this earth.  She is a constant performer and when she gets on stage to dance, I am overwhelmed by her courage, grace and ability.  I love to watch her and feel blessed that I have been given such a wonderful human being to raise and be a part of her life.

Another hero of mine is my partner in crime, Dave.  We have been together for a long time and have been through many, many ups and downs.  I admire him for how he provides for our family and how he would do anything for all of us at any time (even going out and getting gas when it is freezing and I don’t want to get to cold!).  Also that he has been there for me when I have been challenged to the point where I don’t think I can go on.  I know that he is my rock and even though I am strong and could make it, I would never want to try without him! hero

These are just a few people I consider my heros.  It is so hard to name just one.  Do you have the same problem?  I guess I just get a lot from the people in my life and I believe that that is how it is supposed to be!

Who is your hero?  Why?

Love to hear your thoughts.....

