Picking a New Word….

First of all let me say “Sorry you have not heard from me in a while”.  Obviously the excuse is the holidays and the craziness that ensues during them.  Secondly, my Christmas was great!  Thanks for asking.  How was yours?  I hope just as good if not better.  Thirdly, how have your runs/training/just plain exercising routines been going?  Mine, not so great but I have been able to do at least one run each week.  This week oddly enough I made it to the gym twice so far and it is only Thursday.  (4 mile run on Christmas eve before church and then 4 mile run this evening).

cherish2Now finally, the reason I decided to blog tonight and what has been going on in my mind…(this should be fun, you inside my mind!  Have fun!)  Last year at this time I decided to start something new.  Instead of a new years resolution I decided to take a word and focus on it throughout the year.  My word this past year was gratitude.  Quite a word to use as my first word because it brought all kinds of tests for me of which I should probably write about in a different blog later (maybe after the first of the year or this weekend which ever gives me a moment to share with you all).  Anyway…. I have been thinking about the word “cherish” as my new word and wondering how I would integrate it into my life.  I believe I will continue my gratitude journal so I could write about a cherished moment I had during the day, use the word to remind me daily to take a moment and cherish my life, make a cherish jar kind of like this one: memory jar

and fill it with events that have happened throughout the year to cherish and remember.  Not really sure how I’m gonna do it but I think I have picked my new word for the year.

Why this word?  Well look at the definition:

1.   a : to hold dear : feel or show affection for <cherished her friends>

           b : to keep or cultivate with care and affection : nurture<cherishes her marriage>

     2: to entertain or harbor in the mind deeply and resolutely<still cherishes that memory>

I think these are two good reasons to pick this word.

How about you?  Ever picked a word to focus on for the year?  If so which one?  If not, why not?  How about new years resolutions, do you make them?  Do you keep them for the whole year?cherish1

4 thoughts on “Picking a New Word….

  1. Great Idea about a word for the year. I’m interested to hear how focusing on gratitude changed your life. I’ve been doing that for about 5 months now, and I feel great.
    My word for 2013 would have to be “peace”–world peace, inner peace, peace of mind, peace on earth, peace in the Middle East. How about “cherish peace”?
    Thank you for this reminder at the end of the year to start the next year with a purpose.

    • Glad you enjoyed this idea. I will hopefully write about how gratitude has changed my life over the past year, it has truly been an adventure. Peace is a great word to focus on for 2013 and always remembering to be grateful, I believe, will be a lifelong task. Thanks for reading!

Love to hear your thoughts.....

