The Role of Faith

Tell us about the role that faith plays in your life — or doesn’t. – Daily Prompt

faith (2)Merriam Webster defines Faith as:

1.a : allegiance to duty or a person : loyalty

(1) : fidelity to one’s promises (2) : sincerity of intentions

2a (1) : belief and trust in and loyalty to God (2) : belief in the traditional doctrines of a religion

(1) : firm belief in something for which there is no proof (2): complete trust

3: something that is believed especially with strong conviction;especially : a system of religious beliefs <the Protestantfaith>

Faith to me is first a belief in a power greater than myself.  I define mine as God and have faith that there is some rhyme or reason to why things happen the way they do!  There have been many reasons I have this faith and they all date back to growing up in a Christian home with strong values.  My faith in God is and has always been strong especially through the challenges I have faced in 40 years of life.

More recently faith in myself has been what I have been working on.  Not to say I do not have self-worth or self-esteem, I’m just saying that as I try new things (like whether to train for a marathon or starting a new job after grad school) I tend to lack faith in my abilities.  I am starting to really understand that it is these challenges that make me grow and give me more confidence but it’s hard!  I know because each day I meet with people face to face who describe these challenges/trials/insurmountable obstacles and ask me for help.  I waiver in my faith in myself that I can do it and sometimes I can’t but I have found that I am just a director, a person to help steer them to grow and face their problems on their own helping them to have faith in themselves.  It’s crazy how that word keeps popping up in my day to day life.  So how can I not have faith? faith (1)

Right now I am challenged because I want to do something more with my running.  I am pretty sure I want to run a marathon (the longest distance ever in my life!) but my faith keeps wavering.  Nice questions pop up in my head like, “Really, do you think you can really run that far?”, “Are you crazy?” (that one’s my favorite because I know the answer is yes), “Once you get out there 13.1 miles you have to get back do you think you can do that?”.  So this is where my faith in myself and my ability to train and prepare need to get me through.  I feel like the little engine that could, “I think I can, I think I can.”

And isn’t that what Faith is really about anyway?!  Thinking we can, trying it, and whether we succeed or fail at least we tried and that in and of itself builds our faith.  Every day I am unsure whether I can give the right advice or really hear what a Client is trying to say, yet I try it anyway.  I do no harm and have faith in my ability to empathize.  Every day I am challenged to continue my faith in a power greater than myself, God, and I continue to believe that He will give me the words to say and the abilities needed to make it through.  Every day I am challenged to get a run in to keep training for the next race or just to stay in shape and when I am finished with that run/workout I have stronger faith in my abilities.  This is how faith plays a role in my life.  How about yours?faith

13 thoughts on “The Role of Faith

  1. I say go for it! Running a marathon is an awesome thing, and is merely a matter of building up to the mileage. Find a good training plan that builds slowly, train with a group of friends, and you’ll be ready for the experience! I think every woman should run a marathon at some point.

  2. Pingback: Faith in Faith | Beyond Beauty Tips

  3. Great post. It is only human to question your ability to run 26 miles. Here are a couple of things that helped me. First you are not going to try a marathon tomorrow. By the time you get to the day you will have run some big mileage which will give you confidence. Second you are not asking yourself to be the first person to run round the world you are going to do something that 1000s of people have done. I took great strength from that. My advice is do it. I promise it will be one of the great experiences of your life. Good luck.

  4. The way I see it is that you didn’t start taking on clients the moment you wanted to become a therapist: you went and got the training, and read the books, and did some practice and maybe got a great teacher to help.

    The same with marathons, you do the work, put in the time, get the help and bam! Next thing you know you have the most amazing experience of your life under your belt.

    FYI I vote that you do a marathon in 2013.

  5. I totally agree with you comparing faith with the wing. There’s a poem about it “Who has seen the wind, neither you nor I..” Keep on running with Faith as your Guidance. Happy New Year.

  6. Great post! I’ve found we can do much, much more physically when we also mentally prepare for endeavors. I have not run marathons, but provided medical support at several. The difference in runners who mentally know they’ll finish because they’ve completed several races prior, are running to shorten their times, or in memory of loved ones etc. is vastly different than those completing their first race. Be encouraged, have confidence and be blessed, Crystal

Love to hear your thoughts.....

