Quotable Quotes

quotesDaily Prompt: Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

Each day on my facebook page I post a quote for the day as my status.  I have been doing this as long as I can remember (which might not be saying much because I can’t remember yesterday!).  But really I do post quotes daily (oh wait, I just said that!) and when I read today’s question/prompt the quote that came to me automatically was “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”.  I am beginning to think this quote is over used but let me tell you it means a lot to me.  Why?  One, I’m human.  Two, I’ve faced quite a bit of difficulty throughout my short 40 years (like how I said short because I still feel there is a lot to get done and I AM NOT OLD! No matter what my young clients think).  And finally the quote moves me by keeping things in perspective.  I return to this quote fairly often to just remind myself that I can make it through this challenge too, unless of course it kills me but it hasn’t yet!  It also gives me the confidence to continue. quotes1

My partner-in-crime has a two year rule which I think is very fitting with this quote.  The rule is to ask yourself when faced with a stressful situation, “will this affect me two years from now?”  I have found that this question really puts things into perspective for me.  Most of the time I find that I stress about things that really won’t affect me in two years from now and I just need to calm down and gain a better perspective on things so in turn, obviously it won’t kill me but once I make it through, I will be stronger!

How about you?  Do you have a favorite quote?  Please share…..quotes2

2 thoughts on “Quotable Quotes

  1. I love your partner’s strategy. Two years seems a little TOO long away for this ‘here and now’ girl but maybe one year down the line might give me a little perspective!

Love to hear your thoughts.....

