Sleep, who needs it?

sleep4Meeeee!!!  Well technically we all need it.  Some of us need more than others (I feel like I am one of those people).  But is there a difference between sleep and rest.  I believe there is.  I can wake from a full night’s sleep and not feel rested.  Do you ever feel like that?

Always wanting to bring you up to date information, I googled sleep and of course chose the Wikipedia site to fully engage in proper research.  Here are some interesting facts:

“Human sleep needs can vary by age and among individuals, and sleep is considered to be adequate when there is no daytime sleepiness or dysfunction.”

“Sleep debt is the effect of not getting enough sleep; a large debt causes mental, emotional and physical fatigue.” sleep3

One of the questions I always ask my clients is, Are you sleeping?  How much?  Too much and there are issues, not enough and they generally fall into the category of someone who is in sleep debt and is probably not making good decisions.  It is amazing how not getting enough sleep can affect our lives.  But again it brings me back to do you feel rested after you sleep?

Recently I have been trying to establish a better sleep routine in hopes of answering that question.  Craving the desire to feel rested.  This may sound weird but my new routine begins once I get home and know that I am not going anywhere else.  I generally change into my PJ’s.  I know this might sound unusual to be in PJ’s at 6pm but I think it is really important.  This begins to tell my body that it is time to relax.  I’m comfortable and I’m not going to go out anymore (and on a night like tonight when it is snowing, I don’t want to go anywhere!)  One of the more important reasons to change clothes early rather than later is that you don’t want to startle your body awake by putting on cold clothes right before you go to bed.  (I totally understand this because I hate being cold!)

sleep2Something else I found helpful has been to get my stuff ready for work for the next day early in the evening otherwise I am thinking about what I need to do first thing in the morning.  Let’s be honest I forget things if I wait until then.  I also have tried to read a little bit before I go to bed.  I can’t say that I do it every night but when I do, I do wake up feeling more rested because I have checked out of the electronic world and spent some quiet time to myself or with my new friends in my book.

These tips have helped me feel more rested from a night’s sleep.

So now on to the fun reason I posted this post.  I was on Pinterest (my other addiction) and found this person’s blog about leaving a history for your kids.  One of the topics the person had questions about was sleep and I found it very interesting.  Here are the questions about sleep, I’ve put my answers in, share yours if you would like.  Just something fun for the end of a Monday!

 *How many hours do you like to sleep at night?  I get 7 to 8 hours

*Do you take naps? I would like to but usually only happens on the weekends.

*Do you like a lot, or few blankets and pillows? I like blankets and my piller!  I use to take my piller (pillow) with me when I traveled but I started thinking that a 40 year old looks ridiculous in the airport carrying her pillow.
*Can you sleep anywhere, or does it have to be in your own bed?  I sleep better in my own bed.  Not a fan of hotel rooms but can usually sleep if a fan is running or something to create white noise.

*What are your favorite conditions for a good-night’s sleep?  It has to be cool in the room and I wear ear plugs and a mouth guard.  I am a sight to see!!!  A true wonderful nights sleep comes when I don’t have to go anywhere the next day and I can wake up when my body wants to as opposed to the alarm waking me up.sleep

*Does it have to be completely dark and quiet? I like dark but fall asleep to the TV on but turned really low with the timer which turns it off within the hour.

Here is hoping we all get a good night of sleep tonight!

6 thoughts on “Sleep, who needs it?

  1. Great post! I went to a conference in Nov and heard a sleep expert speak and it was so interesting! I also get in my pjs as soon as possible, get other things ready for bed (wash face, brush teeth, etc) at least an hour before bed, then read for about a half hour before lights out. I believe routines are super important.

  2. Yes for sleep! It is so important and I also talk with my clients about it a lot. So many people have unrestful sleep because they are letting text messages wake them up or they fall asleep with the TV on. I am like you, I need a lot of sleep, at least 8 hours it seems. I don’t allow myself to take my laptop into the bedroom at night and I always read before bed.
    Great post and I love the kitty picture.

Love to hear your thoughts.....

