Wacky Wednesday

I haven’t posted a Wacky Wednesday in a while but I thought this was a good description of what happened to me today.  I had a somewhat normal day at work seeing Clients, traveling all around with only one person who didn’t show up, that’s pretty good and what I like to consider a success.  I finished early (to me early is anything before 5pm) and was able to get to the gym by 4:45pm.

runningshoesSo I’m running along, with a goal to run for an hour but really thinking I should get in a long run which right now is at least 10 miles.  Since the treadmill only goes up to 10 miles, I guess that was really my cap tonight.

Anyway back to the story… at about mile 2 I started thinking (always dangerous!).  Earlier in the month I went and got my new shoes to break in before the crazy marathon thing that I signed up for, and it dawned on me that I bought the wrong shoes.  I know crazy right!  I even stood on the sides of the treadmill and tried to glance down at my shoes to make sure that was what happened.  I was such a crazy, sweaty sight.  “Oh look a crazy person trying to read her shoes in the middle of a workout!”  (I am sure anyone who might have been watching exclaimed this to someone)  I have been wearing the same brand of shoes (Sauconey) for a while and when I went into the running shoe store I told them I wear the “Triumphs” so they brought them out.  I tried them on and then bought them.  And tonight I realized that those are not the shoes I have been wearing (it only took me a month to tune into a purchase I made earlier in the month so I think that goes along with me being in a funk and maybe this in another example of me coming out of it).  I bought “Triumphs” when I first started running and changed to “Rides” and thought they were great and I was so glad I switched.  Ideally it would be great to take these expensive shoes back to the store and get the proper ones but I don’t think I could do that.  Plus I am wondering a couple of things: Do I go ahead and buy the Rides and continue my training?  Do I just suck it up and stay with the Triumphs?  Why do I lose my mind when I go into stores to get something for myself?  (I think it is just the pressure of spending money on myself because I am so use to spending money on others and Oh yeah this marathon running thing is a little overwhelming.) runningshoes1

In analyzing my wacky Wednesday, I think I have decided to purchase the new “rides”.  I haven’t really had a great run since I bought these shoes (the wrong ones) and I am hoping that the new ones will bring back that “lovin’ feelin”.  (Hey I couldn’t resist!)  Do you have any thoughts?  I haven’t made the purchase but since I know my size I will probably just buy them online with the hope that since I am doing it from the comfort of my own home I won’t make the mistake.

Ever realized a mistake after a month?  Please say yes because I can’t do this alone.  I need to know that there are others out there like me.  I would love to hear input.

2 thoughts on “Wacky Wednesday

  1. Go to a reputable running store and try on a bunch. They should have a treadmill or let you run around. THEN go by on line if you want. I could never buy a shoe without it being on my feet first. Shoe brands fit so differently. Go find the right shoe t (and left) to bring back the loving. 🙂

  2. My running store lets me take my shoes back. I would at least try to get the shoes you want. I don’t know about a month, but I have defiantly had a week where I look back and realized something that should have been so obvious to me! You’re not alone! 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts.....

