Marathon Race Recap!

IMG_0640I did it!  I completed 26.2 miles of what I am saying is the hardest thing I have ever done!  The crazy thing is that my mind wants to do it again (I am not sure why)!  There were times of sheer joy: when I was at the starting line anticipating the start, when I got started and I was actually keeping a great pace, when I looked up and noticed my surroundings and enjoyed them and of course when I finished.  Then there were times that I cussed myself out (literally and out loud so others probably thought I had lost my mind), times I began to think I had lost my mind, and times I really questioned my training.  I know we are only talking 26.2 miles not 100’s of miles but it was overwhelming the amount of emotions that go through your head during this time when you are pushing your body to exhaustion.

I guess what I am really saying is that it was amazing.  As I reflect back over the run there are so many emotions, thoughts, things I want to say and I am not sure how to IMG_0652express this feeling of doing something like this.  I have disappointment because I thought I would do better (a faster time) and I thought I would be able to run the whole thing due to what I felt like was good training.  Then there was joy that I completed it, didn’t pass out, didn’t stop (did think about it several times, but hey, I bought a really expensive marathon jacket.  I had to finish so I could wear it!)  Now it feels like all the doubt is being replaced with the desire to do it again.  I did set a personal best (okay a personal only but who is counting):  Finish: 4:49:24

61 in division out of 144

503 out of 1137 women

1558 out of 2748 who finished the marathon

11:03 mile pace but I really lost it in the last 6 miles and that is what brought me to 11 min. miles.

Stickers provided for everyone

Stickers provided for everyone

The crowds were wonderful.  I had my headphones in but you could hear them and see their joy of yelling for you.  They all seemed to truly express their desire to help you finish.  I am so thankful that they all came out to cheer us on.  I loved seeing some of the same people moving along the race course.  It was like familiar faces even though you had no idea who they were.  They were there for you!  On multiple occasions while I was struggling people would read my name off my bib and scream “You can do it Shanna!  You got this!”   Then there were the moments where you saw your friends, your family, a person I hadn’t seen in over 15 years (stopped and gave him a hug!) and it was incredible to see their joy in your accomplishment.  Overwhelming……

One of my dear friends Peggy

One of my dear friends Peggy

There were some great signs that kept me going:

“If it were easy, I would do it!”

“This is the worst parade ever!”

“Run for those who can’t”

“If you faint, we will pause your garmin for you!”

“Are you tired of seeing us yet?” (this is from one group I saw five times along the path)

“If you can read this you’re losing” – on the back of someone’s shirt.  I pass them!

“26.2 because 26.3 is just insane!”

My least favorite and it kept popping up – “Trust your training” (Lots of self doubt for me behind that one!)

Then the one my daughter made. “You run like a girl!  Go Mom”

My marathon team

My marathon team

A moment I will not soon forget is when Coach Barry Switzer placed the medal over my head and told me by name that I did a great job.  For me it was a full circle moment.  He coached one of my favorite football teams (University of Oklahoma and then the Dallas Cowboys).  He was also been at track meets I participated in when I was younger.  So for me a full circle moment was realized at then end of this race.

And of course there was the reason I ran.  A Run to Remember those we lost on April 19, 1995 in OKC and then those we lost on April 15, 2013 in Boston.  A community struck by tragedy but the strength and perseverance that endures through all of us.

It was a wonderful first place to begin this marathon journey and I look forward to the next step along this path.IMG_0655

13 thoughts on “Marathon Race Recap!

    • Thank you so much! That is my goal: to inspire! Really it is all about having the faith to get to the line. The rest takes care of itself. I would suggest anyone/everyone to try a marathon (well if you are a person who runs that is!). Thanks again. If you want any tips, please ask. I will tell you what I know. 🙂

      • Thanks! I need to get this Half out of the way and then next year look to the 42kms. My Husband was shocked the other day when I said maybe a marathon, I shall ask him to read your post so he can see why. I would certainly love some tips.

  1. Many months until my first marathon, and I’ve been going through the ups and downs of wondering why I’m going to put myself through it. This post definitely puts me in a positive mood about it, thank you for that.

  2. Funny some of those signs were in London! My fav was ‘Come on mother’ that made me cry I hate when my kids call me that! Love the finisher t shirt!

Love to hear your thoughts.....

