Run Your Own Race

pace3It has taken me a while but I think I am finally figuring this slogan out.  So much so I used it when talking to my friend who was getting ready to run her first half-marathon this weekend.  I told her to “Run your own race and that we were just going for a run with 1000 of our closest friends.”  She didn’t want to believe me but I am using it for myself at every race now and I am finally beginning to relax.  It works, I promise.  When all those faster people are passing you, just chanting to yourself, “my race, my pace” has been very effective.

This weekend I ran the Cranberry Half-marathon and I knew what I wanted to do.  I wanted a new PR but I was hoping to get 1 hour and 55 minutes.  When I started, I went out fast (8 min first mile) and I had to tell myself to slow down.  So in trying to listen, my second mile was slowerpace2 (8:10 min) I then began to just let my body run it’s race.  I let it run and mentally kept it in good spirits by smiling and thanking those who came out to cheer us on.  It worked.  I ran my race, didn’t get discouraged and was able to keep my feet going forward (no walking!) and crossed the line with an incredible PR of 1:52:34.  After I was able to get rid of my leg cramps, I felt pretty good (I still need to figure out how to work on those so they aren’t so bad).  I also noticed that I finished 12th in my division out of 108, that was even more exciting only missing the top 10 by 10 seconds!

So now the therapy part of this, how can I use this to keep me going and living my own pace in life?  Often I find myself overwhelmed and comparing myself to what others do especially at work.  I think it comes from the fact I have to hit a certain number of client hours per week and with my competitive nature, if I am not doing it and others are, I get discouraged.  But I know what I can do and what I can handle.  I know my race, my pace.  Some weeks I can handle more so I push myself harder, other times I can hardly wait for Friday and am glad I usually book it light.

Ways I slow my pace down are things like going for a run, going to my Monday night tap class, sitting and watching a movie/tv, reading a book, spending relaxing weekends away from home or even (believe it or not) cleaning my house.

Are you running your race at your pace?  Are you letting others run it for you?  What are some ways you can slow it down and make it yours and enjoy it?

Let’s do it together!

Here’s some pics from the weekend I thought you would enjoy:

A day at the Ocean

A day at the Ocean

DSC_0194

Cranberry Half-Marathon Medals waiting at the finish!

Cranberry Half-Marathon Medals waiting at the finish!

me, Liz, and Jennie waiting to start!

me, Liz, and Jennie waiting to start!

Relaxed at the beginning

Relaxed at the beginning

Finished with a gun time of 1:52:47 but official time of 1:52:34 and a new PR!

Finished with a gun time of 1:52:47 but official time of 1:52:34 and a new PR!

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Run Your Own Race

  1. Well done on your PR – great time for a half 🙂 I too am learning to ‘run my own race’ and pay attention to my body and how I feel when running. This has resulted in some pleasantly surprising results in recent weeks.

Love to hear your thoughts.....

