2014

2014As I think about 2014 I start to wonder what I want to achieve in this new and upcoming year.  I keep telling people it is going to be a wonderful year!  I’m not quite sure why I think that, maybe because I am hopeful, optimistic or more than likely it is because I truly believe it.  2014 is going to be a great year.  It will be a year that has a lot of changes for the good and it will continue to be a year that pushes me out of my comfort zone.

If you have read my blog for very long you know that I don’t set a lot of long term goals I tend to find words and incorporate them in my year.  In 2012 it was the word “gratitude”.  I used this word in my daily life by keeping a gratitude journal.  Each day I would spend a few moments writing down 3 things I was grateful for and never writing the same thing in the same week.  (Let me tell you that makes you really look at the small things in your life.)  I enjoyed this so much I continued to do that into 2013 and I am sure I will continue this practice until I don’t feel like I need daily reminders of the wonderful things in my life (which at this point will probably be never).

In 2013 my word was “cherish”.  I incorporated a cherish jar into the family life and would write down events and moments that I cherished.  We have plans to read all of the things that were written on them either New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day.  I can’t wait to relive these moments with the family.  I am already thinking about keeping this activity going in 2014.

So what is my word in 2014?  Great question!  I’m not sure yet but I am leaning towards a word that keeps popping into view, Acceptance.  I’m still not convinced this is the word but I’ve been thinking about the power behind this word and how I could utilize it in my day to day life.  I don’t want it to be in a negative way of “just accept where you are because that is where you will always be”.  I want it to be a motivator/stay out of your head sort of way.  “Accept the things I cannot change” and move on.  Accept that it takes time for some things to happen but you don’t have to just sit idly by and wait.  You can do things to better yourself while you wait.  Accept the fact you can’t change others but how can you change your thoughts to make your interactions with others better.  Accept that I have the power to make my life different.  As I said earlier, I’m not sure this is THE word for the year but I know that I do need it to be part of my year in 2014. acceptance

I do have a few running goals for 2014:

  1. Complete my first trilogy of half-marathons hosted by BA Events (already signed up for the first one in February.)
  2. Run my second marathon and make it a much better marathon than my first in regards to preparation.
  3. Continue with my at least one race a month so I have a goal for each month to keep me motivated to run.
  4. Actively participate in my new running club (all signed up but haven’t done a run with them)
  5. Enjoy running! 

I’m looking forward to what 2014 is going to bring and can’t wait to share it with you.  Thanks for reading and Happy 2014!acceptance1

5 thoughts on “2014

  1. My girlfriend does this and this year she picked breathe. She challenged all off us to pick a word. It’s funny, but I picked acceptance. I chose it for many reasons, but the biggest one is to be okay with they way things are that I cannot control. Happy New Year my friend!

  2. Pingback: 2 months to go to reach all my running goals… | therunningtherapist

  3. Pingback: 2014, was a good year! | therunningtherapist

Love to hear your thoughts.....

