Waiting patiently but running further & Janathon 15/31

patience3Recently I found myself talking to a client about patience.  My biggest resolution about patience happened when I prayed for patience in order to deal with things in my life and understand things better and then found out I was pregnant.  That is when I began to know that God has a great sense of humor, because really what gives you more patience than learning to be a parent and children!

When the word showed up again this week in several different ways I began to wonder, wonder what I would have to learn to be patient about (I think I already knew but just wanted to make sure).  And sure enough now I sit waiting.  Okay let’s rephrase that.  Now I run.  I’m running more, exercising more, becoming a little obsessed about when I can get to the gym or outside to run.  patience2

Today I waited so patiently I got in 8.5 miles.  It felt pretty good but I’m not sure I can keep up this pace.  It’s a little early to be at marathon pace and distance this far away from my April marathon but after all isn’t that what patience is all about.  Waiting constructively for an answer of some sort whether good or bad (okay it better be good!).

Janathon 15/31 update

8.5 miles at 8:49 pace on treadmill

20 minutes of stretching and foam rolling

Happy 15th day of January/Janathon!  I hope you had a good one if not wait patiently for tomorrow is a new day!

10 thoughts on “Waiting patiently but running further & Janathon 15/31

      • They’re all kind of tied together. Patience keeps hitting me in the face, too, even though Joy is my word, so I’m assigning it a secondary position. I can handle two words!

      • You are braver than I am! It’s always interesting how your word of the year comes in to play. I’m afraid that two big words like patience and acceptance on their own might take on a crazy life of their own. I’ll just let them tie together in different ways during the year instead of utilizing them as individuals.

        I love that joy is your word. It is so fitting. I think my best second word is gratitude which I continue to practice year after year.

      • I remember thinking years ago that I rarely felt joy. I felt happiness and contentment, etc, but never true joy. This year I do. I want to take this year to celebrate and find joy wherever I can. Sounds like a post I need to be writing!

  1. OMG speedy lady! GREAT run! I need to work on patience with my training. I get frustrated when things aren’t going the way I had planned, but I think bodies respond certain ways for a reason. Just hard to remember that when you’re trying to get faster 😉

Love to hear your thoughts.....

