Acceptance

acceptance2A common theme of my work is “accepting the things you cannot change, the courage to change the things you can and the wisdom to know the difference”.

But how do we know?  How do we know what to accept and what we can change?  I guess that is the wisdom piece but as humans we tend to second guess ourselves even if we have all the wisdom in the world.

I’m no guru on how to make this happen but I know how this works in my life (or at least I work on this acceptance piece a lot in my life).

Recently I knew I needed a change in my career path, I was unsure when, where, why or how but I knew a difference would help me.  So I accepted this fact and I began to look.  I was fortunate enough to get some immediate interviews and options and realized that indeed this was going to happen.  Then acceptance once again, change is hard but necessary in order to grow.

For me this is where the courage part had to step in and take over.  I spent two weeks saying “Goodbye” to my clients.  It was hard and I fortunately was able to write about it here.  It took courage to meet with each client each day and process with them their next step while really the only thing I wanted to do was run (I’m not a huge fan of confrontation and having to do it 40 times in two weeks was overwhelming).

Now I am two days in to my new adventure and I am accepting the change and becoming overwhelmed with all the new knowledge I must take on to do the job successfully.  I am however fortunate enough to be surrounded by wonderful people who are encouraging and calming.  Some of the best advice I have gotten from a fellow employee is to give it time (hey isn’t that acceptance?!) because you don’t learn this overnight but you will learn it.  I am confident that I know what I am doing because it is still therapy it just comes down to the paperwork and reporting aspect which is always different at every agency.

For me, I have and still remind myself each day to accept the things I cannot change, having the courage to change the things I can and using my knowledge and wisdom to know the difference. acceptance3

Oh and did I mention that acceptance is my word for the year!  So what a great way to get it started with “acceptance” happening at the beginning of the year!

Are there things you need to accept and things you need to change?

4 thoughts on “Acceptance

  1. Oh man, as a control freak with OCD-like tendencies, learning to accept the things I cannot change was/is super hard for me. I love that I have a mom and boyfriend who know this about me, and know how to remind me to “let it go” haha

Love to hear your thoughts.....

