Crying on the Treadmill…..

oklahom6I was on the treadmill this afternoon running my long run, staring aimlessly outside at what looked like a beautiful day but was really just another cold day in New England, when I felt them.  Tears not gushing ugly tears but emotional tears like when someone tells you something and it hits that emotional spot in your heart.  Well I don’t just usually start crying at the drop of a hat (contrary to what people might tell you) okay maybe I do cry easily but it is usually for something good.  And this was.

I was watching the Ellen interview with Meryl Streep from late February (oh yes while watching aimlessly out the window.  I’m a multitasker!) and she was talking about her film August: Osage County which was filmed in my home state of Oklahoma.  I haven’t seen the film yet but now I’m thinking I might actually rent it (can you do that anymore?)  Anyway, Ellen asked her about Oklahoma and she replied:oklahom5

“Oklahoma is a surprise because it is so shockingly beautiful.  You think it is going to be flat and dry but it’s varied and mysterious, all the Native American feeling and the sky is huge and it is kind of beautiful, spiritually beautiful.”

I saw in my mind and felt in my heart what she was talking about and then I felt on my face the tears.  Recollections of wonderful things is so powerful and it probably helped that I’m training for that OKC marathon and I visualized some of the places I run through and how they feel.

Ever since I made the choice to live in the present moment, I have found that I have more moments like this in my life and I am so grateful for them.

oklahom3Shortly after I finished my 8.5 mile run I stepped off my treadmill to a woman who was staring at my treadmill and what I had just completed.  She said, “You were on that for 70 minutes!  Oh my gosh.  You should be so proud of yourself.”  Once again insert a few tears and a very nice yet sweaty “thank you”.  I never thought about it like that.  I usually get off the treadmill happy that I completed it but never, “I’m proud of what I just did” because really for me it is just another training run.  But yet it was something to cherish. oklahom1

Just like my memories of my home state are moments to cherish so are these everyday moments like my feet and body carrying me to my goal set for the day, whatever it might be.  This is a wonderful way to live in the moment and sometimes it even brings some tears.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADo you ever have these moments (with or without tears)?  How do you keep yourself living in the present moment?

Oh, by the way, I cleaned up the tears off the treadmill, just in case you were wondering.  🙂

Hope you enjoyed the varying landscapes of Oklahoma!

8 thoughts on “Crying on the Treadmill…..

  1. Loved the photos, thank you. My family would tell you I cry easily and I would admit that. The last episode happened when my dad sent madam a photo of him in his younger days with his athletic trophies, why cry? No idea! But I did.

  2. Beautifully written. I’m not naturally an emotional person. But anything sensitive that has to do with my baby will bring tears to my eyes.
    It kind of seems that we’re on similar life paths at the moment. You and me…that is. You’re preparing for the run in Oklahoma and I’m preparing for the pilgrimage in my native country. I’ll admit, I know when I reach the St. James Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela (where I was baptized), I’ll probably shed a tear. Happy tears from being proud of my accomplishment and from the connection that I have with that town.
    Thank you for sharing this beautiful post. Have a great day!

    • Thank you so much for sharing. Your pilgrimage sounds incredible. Good luck. It is amazing how things we are use to seeing everyday turn into incredible things when we are away from them for a while. I hope you have a spectacular day!

Love to hear your thoughts.....

