Looking for Bling…

pretty cool medal to add to the collection

pretty cool medal to add to the collection

I have to admit, I look at the race bling before I enter a race.  I even sometimes don’t even enter a race if they don’t give away medals at the end.  Not sure why I do this but I guess it could be because I am wanting a reward for working so hard to get to the finish line.  (Please don’t say I’m the only one who does this)  There are some races I run because they were what I started with and they were the ones that pushed me to go farther, like the Lone Gull 10K in September.  I will never be in the top three who gets awards but my time has gotten better each race and I like to push myself in it because although it runs along the ocean it also has challenging spots that are very hilly.

But back to the bling….

The really cool medals!

The really cool medals!  Wine stoppers

I once signed up for a race the night before because the medal was so cool and I needed to do a long run that weekend anyway so why not do it with other running friends.  This year’s medal for the OKC marathon is huge and weighs a ton.  I didn’t realize how big it was until I put it next to last year’s while I was hanging in my room.  I guess it has lots of semblance too since it was the “Worst Best Marathon Ever” so it better be a big reward.

OKC marathon medal.  On the left is this years, in the middle is last years, and at the end is the year before.

OKC marathon medal. On the left is this years, in the middle is last years, and at the end is the year before.

As I prepare for this weekend’s half marathon, I find myself not real excited about the bling because it  isn’t that great.  Shame on me! I’m excited about the race because it is the same course as my PR in February and then I was still training for the marathon, now I’ve run the marathon and this should be a relaxing run by the ocean on what is supposed to be a beautiful weekend.  Not saying I’m going to PR but it would be ideal conditions.

Oh I get side tracked so easy….

Anyway the bling…. I started thinking after my short run at the gym today that really I get more than any race bling has to offer.  Through all these years (about 4 years) of training, I have gotten into incredible shape.  Not that I’m bragging but I found a couple of abs (which is nice, now I’d like to find the rest of the six pack), my butt is very perky, and I have great legs if I do say so myself.  Now I feel like I’m bragging but that is not what it is.  It is more I can visibly see the changes in my body.  For my insides, I make better choices when I eat (okay most of the time but I still enjoy wine and ice cream) and I feel healthier.  Then there is the mental aspect.  I am able to process things faster, have more energy even when my body says your tired my mind keeps us going, and I just feel nicer (most of the time).  There is also the race community.  Wherever I go there is someone who is a runner, training for a race or use to run who I have great conversations with.  That is so much fun!  This is race bling I never counted on but it rewards me each day as well as on the race course when I finish.

This is how I store my race bling.  I know very fancy.  Don't be jealous of my fancy $2 command hooks!

This is how I store my race bling. I know very fancy. Don’t be jealous of my fancy $2 command hooks!

So I will continue to choose some races due to their race bling because really I am a girl who likes to have some sparkly things but I will continue to remind myself that I wear my race bling every day and I am so thankful that I can be so healthy now in my 40’s and hopefully it will continue for many, many years.

How about you, every chosen a race because of it’s bling?  If so, what race are you planning on running, maybe I will join you!  What is the best race bling you have ever gotten?

6 thoughts on “Looking for Bling…

  1. Absolutely with you on the bling. Australian medals are downright dull compared to the ones I see on my ruuning-blogging friends from the USA. Why not have a beautiful medal that symbolises hours of determination spent in running shoes? And you are in awesome shape – you look fantastic 🙂 Have a wonderful race 🙂

  2. You’re certainly not the only one! The first race I ever ran (a 5k) had bling for everyone at the end, and it feels almost anticlimactic now if I cross a finish line and don’t get a medal. I’m sure if I ever finish in the top of my age group (fat chance!) the medal will carry more meaning, but each race I finish is an accomplishment (it’s only been about a year since I could run more than one mile without wanting to collapse) and I appreciate each medal as proof of that acconplishment. 🙂

    My favorite piece of bling is the medal I got at this year’s B.A.A. 5k. To have earned something with that blue and yellow unicorn makes me so happy!

    • Awesome! I didn’t run the race but I was jealous of all those who did. I would love to have that unicorn! Congrats. I think I would even pay $5 more just to have the medal at the end. It is a huge proof of accomplishment. We train hard and the race is only the cap to the everything we have put in. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Wow that race bling is AMAZING. I’ve only got a couple of medals and I’ve never really gotten what all the fuss is about. But those ones would really motivate me to the finish line.

Love to hear your thoughts.....

