Friends

friendsSorry for the delay in posting, I’m just been a little overwhelmed lately.  Here is hoping that I will be more consistent.  As my first topic back, I’d like to talk about friends.

How do you make friends when you are old?  Okay, I’m not old, but I am challenged to make friends.  I know this sounds really weird coming from someone who is very outgoing.  I am involved in lots of things.  Okay maybe not lots of things but I do work all day, sometimes attend my running group and well that is about it.  I think I had more “friends” when my daughter was home.  I think this is true for most of us.  When we are raising kids we are friends with the parents of the friends of our children.  We see them all the time when we are at activities or we just spend a lot of time with them at dance competitions and we inherently become friends which is not a bad thing.

But now we are moving on with our lives, we don’t spend weekends with my daughter’s friend’s parents and we are left to our own devices.  We have to make friends.  I know it sounds strange for someone in their 40’s to begin making friends but that is where I find myself.

I have some wonderful women who I have met through work and through some extracurricular activities in the past but I have never gotten that close to.  But I think it is time to build those relationships. friends1

Right now we are hopeful that some people we met in our condo complex will be a great source of friendship.  We are planning an evening get together soon.  Yeah us!

Where do you find new friends?  Any pointers so we don’t seem to needy?! 🙂

 

One thought on “Friends

Love to hear your thoughts.....

