Missed me?!

I know I have not written much over the past month or so.  I have posted the motivational Monday’s but not a lot more, sorry.  I would like to say, I’ve been overwhelmingly busy with life and races and things but really it is has been more like I’ve lacked motivation.  Not motivation to do things, I think I have lacked motivation to talk about things.  We all know I have said that at times I am my own worst therapist!

Well I’m trying to work on better self-care which does include hanging out with my blog buddies.

I hope everyone has been doing well.  I have been training for my next race.  Okay not for my next race exactly but for my next marathon, I have signed up for several races leading up to the marathon.  So I downloaded and have been following a new training plan which has me doing two long runs every weekend, it’s something about building up endurance.  I don’t know about you but two long runs in a weekend makes for a very tired person at the end of the weekend.  I do however think it is going well.  Except that last weekend in my last miles of my 16 miler on Sunday I started to have some leg cramps.  I had run 8 miles the day before and I was on a fairly flat trail but at mile 15 my legs started to seize.  I call it that because I can’t think of a better term for leg cramps that occur and cause your legs to not relax.

I have spent some time doing some research about leg cramps, especially since my last marathon, and I ordered some of this stuff.  I am hopeful that it will work and judging by the fact it has already been sent out, I might be able to give it a try this weekend.  I really need to figure out the leg cramp pain because right now it makes me want to stop my distance running but I am totally refusing to stop.  I feel so good when I run and I love how much better shape I am in due to all the running.

So what have you been up?  Any long running adventures or good training plans you can recommend?  Have you ever tried building up endurance by doing two long runs in a weekend?

6 thoughts on “Missed me?!

  1. Keen to know what training plan you are using! I’ve started using hydralite sport all the time (half strength and 2L per day) and feel so much better for it. And no cramps too! And yes I have missed your posts but everyone needs a break from time to time 🙂

    • Thanks so much. I really wish I could hire a personal trainer who could just tell me what to do for these marathons and cramps. But until I get some sponsors for slow marathons, I think I am on my own! 🙂

  2. I understand the absence. Life gets busy. I’ve had the seizing before. Eventually, I got it to go away. Unfortunately, it started at mile 22 of my first marathon…on a hill…in the rain. Yikes. My mile 24 or 25, my quads started to loosen, but by then I had lost almost all my momentum. Lame sauce.

  3. I’ve definitely missed your blog!!!! I got very excited when I check my feed this morning and saw you’d written 🙂 I’ll have to check out the endurolytes myself for my calf issues…can’t hurt, that’s for sure. I was talking to a physical therapist friend who said it was probably my new shoes/insoles or a combination of both for me, so we’ve probably got different issues going on. I hope hope HOPE we can both fix what’s up with them though!!!!

    • I’m glad that I’m back at it too. I miss all my blogging/real friends. I enjoy reading what is going on in your life too especially since you are so far away! I always say shoes are important. I really hope that solves your problem. I have been through several sets of shoes with the same problem so I think mine is more internal. I’ll keep you posted. Thanks for reading. 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts.....

