Holding on too long…

let-go-3First let me say that this is not something I’m struggling with personally right now but something I was thinking about.

Anyway, I was thinking that we tend to hold on to things too long.  Sometimes its jobs, sometimes its friendships, sometimes its other relationships.  Then I started to think about why.  Why do we hold on to things even when we are not happy?  Why hold on even though we know there are better things out there or at least we hope there is?  Why do we get stuck in the same routine and not push ourselves to change?  And most of all why do we hold on when the only emotional gain is only one of knowing you have the security but is that how you really want to live?

I feel like the biggest factor that keeps us stuck or holding on and unwilling to change is FEAR.  We are scared of the unknown.  We are scared of change.  We are fearful of how life will be if we let go and move on. let go

I have had many times in my life where I have had to face fears and brave the unknown.  Sometimes it went well, other times it was okay but most of all, it was never as bad as I made it in my head.  In my head I could imagine the worst possible thing and just knew it was going to happen.  But really much to my surprise it was never as bad as what I thought it would be.

In my work we have anagrams for the letters of FEAR

F**K

Everything

And

Run

Or

Face

Everything

And

Recover

I think you can use the word recover to mean lots of things.  Recover from the emotional loss you have from hanging on to long, recover and figure out what you want from life, and recover spiritually and mentally in your life to make the most of what you have.  We are all on this planet for way to short a time to be stuck in fear and not learning to let go and move forward.  It’s time to make the changes you want to make in your life even if it means leaping out of your comfort zone to do it.  Believe me, it will be worth it.

How do you let go?  Sometimes it happens slowly by making small changes while others you will be thrown into the need to change by life.  But as much as you can, don’t be fearful, be planful (new word I just made up).  Take a deep breath, decide what you want, and make a plan on how to get from point A to B.  You might need options of C,D, or E but know that you have control and can make it work.  I didn’t learn how to run a marathon all at once and even still after running three and many miles under my feet am I even beginning to understand how to do things.  But I have a plan and I’m facing that fear very planfully!

Take the leap to let go and give a new plan a try.

let go1

Love to hear your thoughts.....

