Overwhelmed…

IMG_0444

My fortune at my work Christmas party. I thought it was great and fitting!

I don’t know about you but this time of the year I find myself beyond overwhelmed.  It is really all I can do to finish work, fix dinner for the fam, and get some rest to start it all over the next day.  I get so excited when it is the weekend but before I know it, BAM, it’s time to start it all over again.  Today I was so happy that I got out of work at 12pm.  I was able to come home and fix myself a hot lunch, which is unusual because I usually eat a sandwich real quick between clients.  I find that this doesn’t help the overwhelmed feeling.

Today, I was able to put a word to what I was feeling.  I thought it was stress but really I didn’t have a lot to be stressed about because Dave was doing most of the Christmas shopping and thanks to the internet I have been able to do a little in the evening.  But today I just decided it was the emotions that happen this time of year when you don’t live close to your family, you want to do so many things, and you want to keep your level of work performance really high especially when your clients are really struggling.  So instead of stressed out, I call it being overwhelmed.  I find that my overwhelmed person tends to pull back from all social media, spends alone time on the verge of tears (yes, even a therapist has emotional times), and just not exercising like I should (which probably would help the verge of tears self!).

So now that I realize it and the Christmas season is just at its most stressful/overwhelming period I have to make a plan.  Dave mentioned to me that I haven’t been blogging very much so maybe I should use my blog for what I intended (a place to talk) and focus back on what is important.  If I don’t get that perfect gift for someone, it’s not going to be a big deal.  If I go for that long run and miss an event it is not going to be that big of a deal, because I do better when I allow myself some time to meditate while I run.  I need to take the pressure off myself.  Time to get back to some basics.

Me and Judy before the Jingle Bell 5K - My fun little Ms. Claus outfit.

Me and Judy before the Jingle Bell 5K – My fun little Ms. Claus outfit.

I did find myself more relaxed last Sunday after the Jingle Bell 5K with my marathon friend.  It was great to run with a friend and 5500 of my closest running friends.  I felt sheer joy to be doing something I love.

Are you feeling like me?  Maybe it is time for you to take a break too.  What is your plan?

7 thoughts on “Overwhelmed…

  1. I feel you, I got a new job last month and the past two weeks have been so overwhelming! I was on the verge of tears a lot and I didn’t get to run much, which I know would have helped all the stress. Here’s to a calmer January!

Love to hear your thoughts.....

