2014, was a good year!

20141Well let’s recap 2014 which for me was a great year.  I hope you had a wonderful year too.

My running goals that I set last year were:

  1. Complete my first trilogy of half-marathons hosted by BA Events Completed! Get my free jacket at my next half marathon in February!  Yeah!!!!  Achieved!!
  2. Run my second marathon and make it a much better marathon than my first in regards to preparation. – Well that one did not go as planned due to a 2 hour rain delay but I did run a 3rd marathon and set a new PR and met a new friend. Achieved!!
  3. Continue with my at least one race a month so I have a goal for each month to keep me motivated to run. – Ran a total of 14 races this year. Achieved!!!
  4. Actively participate in my new running club (all signed up but haven’t done a run with them) – Ran with my new club through the spring and summer and stopped while training for my fall marathon. I will get back involved starting the spring this year.  Achieved!!!

    All the bling from the year but not all the races that I ran.  Love the medals.

    All the bling from the year but not all the races that I ran. Love the medals.

  5. Enjoy running! – Doing good with this one so I would say Achieved!!!
  6. New goal but think it is worth talking about since it was unplanned: Completed a total of 1197.59 miles this year, went through 4 pairs of running shoes and stayed uninjured and mostly interested in running. (PS – I was trying to figure out how I could finish the last few miles to hit 1200 but Wednesday is a rest day so just gonna have to settle and make it a new goal for 2015)
Home Sweet Home

Home Sweet Home

There were some things that happened throughout the year that did not involve running, believe it or not.  I bought my first house and good news is that I already live here so didn’t have to move.  I’d say that is a win.  Also I got a new job in February and I love it even after almost my first full year.  Never gets old!

One of the biggest things that happened was getting my Mental Health Counselor’s License.  This is such a process that doesn’t even happen until at least 2 years after grad school and I am so happy to be done with it.  Oh and with it came a great raise which made me love my job even more (wink, wink)!

I also had a word of the year.  Last year’s was acceptance.  I think I put it into good practice.  When I struggled to finished the marathon in OKC, I accepted that it was going to take all I had to get to the end and practiced acceptance at how horrible it felt at the end.  In my work I accepted the fact that I could not control my day and had to learn to relax and let things happen (which is hard for a control freak by the way).  I also think that the word acceptance helped me to learn to take better care of myself.  I added a massage a month to my training plan and had to accept that it would be expensive but find it vital in keeping me relaxed and motivated (it might have to be more than once a month now that I started training for my next marathon but let’s not tell Dave.)

Stay tuned for goals for 2015 and really have to pick out a new word for the year, any suggestions?!  I’m really looking forward to 2015 how about you?

2 thoughts on “2014, was a good year!

Love to hear your thoughts.....

