New mantra and Janathon 20/31

sprintsToday I struggled to complete my workout.  My training plan calls for sprints on Tuesday’s because that is what I wanted, I wanted to get faster.  Today however was hard.  The plan said I had to do 5 x 1000m at 4:46 pace (7:37 per mile).  I decided I would do them at a faster pace then required so I cranked the wonderful treadmill up to 8.6 (6:58 per mile).  I can tell you I was ready for the resting jog after each of the 5 sprints.  I was able to do the first two sets with some struggle but tried to really get into it.

When I got to the third sprint I just wanted to give up and call it a bad day.  I was also thinking, “maybe I should just slow down to the pace I was supposed to go and it will be easier”.  Well that was the wrong thing to say to myself because I got mad at myself.  I started to yell at myself internally (which is good because the gym was pretty full this evening).

Who wants it to be easier?

Would I be happier with easier?

Would I get faster with easier?

So I pushed on, but believe me I wasn’t happy!  I started telling myself over and over, “you will not meet your goals with easy!”  This did it to get me through the last of the sprints, I did however cut the cool down a little shorter just because I needed to stop and really catch my breath.  I was happy I kept going but because of all the negative thoughts I thought I needed to challenge myself a little more (what can I say, I’m a glutton for punishment!).

Instead of just stretching I did some core work: planks, crunches, bridges, supermans and some hip flexor work with clam shells and leg lifts.  At this point, I stopped.  Which believe me my body was overly thrilled to do.

I would say overall today’s workout went well and so glad to have developed a new mantra: You will not meet your goals with easy!  I have a feeling this will come in handy as I am only 4 weeks in to this 17 week training plan.  So here we go.

Have you ever developed a mantra?  What is it?  If not, are you willing to give it a try?  I am pretty sure once I get to the marathon my mantra will change to get me to the end but while training I think I have found a good one.

Janathon Update:  Run 6 miles w/sprints with a 7:54 pace overall, 2-1min planks, 2-30 supermans, 2 sets= 30 crunches and side crunches, 12 bridges, clams, leg lifts

 

5 thoughts on “New mantra and Janathon 20/31

  1. I do the calm shell exercise for my hip flexors too. Sometimes I need a mantra to get me through a tough workout. Usually it’s “this will end” … ha ha, I used that when giving birth to our 2 girls – baby WILL come out, this will end 😉

  2. Pingback: Made it through but it hurt (25/31) | therunningtherapist

Love to hear your thoughts.....

